Guiding Principles

Institut, IMWS, Vordereingang, Eingang
© Fraunhofer IMWS

The main building of the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS in Halle.

The Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS is a methodologically oriented Fraunhofer Institute in the material sciences and materials engineering disciplines. The Fraunhofer IMWS is a contact for industry and public clients for all issues concerning materials and systems – with the objective of increasing material efficiency and profitability and to use resources carefully.

The work of the Fraunhofer IMWS is aimed at identifying defects and weakpoints in materials, components and systems on the micro- and nanoscale, to clarify their cause and to offer clients solutions based on the outcomes. The institute's industrial clients come, among other things, from the microelectronics and microsystem engineering, photovoltaics, plastics engineering sectors, the chemical industry, energy engineering, automotive engineering and the aircraft industry. This work is accompanied by the further development of methods to shed light on microstructures. Together with analysis equipment manufacturers, precise-fitting equipment configurations can be developed, so that in future industrial clients can identify and avoid the source of defects themselves.

As an institute of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the Fraunhofer IMWS promotes and conducts internationally networked, application-orientated research for the direct benefit of industry and to the advantage of society. It makes important contributions to material efficiency, careful use of resources and profitability and thus faces the central challenge of the 21st century; the sustainability of all areas of life and in particular, efficient handling of limited raw materials. At the same time it thus contributes to the competitiveness of Saxony-Anhalt, Germany and Europe.

The Fraunhofer IMWS sets itself the highest scientific and technical standards. It prepares cost-efficient and quality-assured, high-quality innovative solutions for its clients. In its core areas of expertise, microstructure diagnostics and microstructure design, the Fraunhofer IMWS is the leader within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and is recognized internationally. The Fraunhofer IMWS offers its employees personal development opportunities and supports them in their scientific and entrepreneurial qualification.

 

Microstructure diagnostics – discovered by IMWS

Miskrokopie ultra Mikrostruktur Forschung
© Fraunhofer IMWS

Researchers at the Fraunhofer IMWS gain insights down to the smallest level using, among other things, an atomic microscope.

Excellent work on clarifying microstructure has been conducted at the Halle location since the 1960s in the predecessor establishments of the Fraunhofer IMWS. Since 1992, the Fraunhofer IMWS has invested more than euro 35 million in equipment for obtaining insights into and clarifying microstructure. The institute of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft thus has the most extensive equipment for microstructure elucidation.

We use it to determine the microstructural material and component characteristics down to atomic level and the resulting properties during use. We make statements regarding material compositions, grain and crystalline structures, flaw and defect formations and reaction and wear processes. Apart from the development of microstructure-based technology, the Institute concentrates on the development of new screening methods with high throughput rates.

We correlate the microstructure with local mechanical, electrical and thermophysical properties and thus make capacity reservoirs usable. Our main focus is on semiconductors, polymers and biological materials.

Microstructure design – designed by IMWS

Profil Nachhaltigkeit Verbesserung Verbindung Gummi
© Fraunhofer IMWS

The composition of fillers in rubber composites is optimized in the IMWS - thus enabling fuel-efficient tyres.

Our understanding and die command of microstructure enables us to intervene in fundamental material properties. With the help of microstructure design we input the material know-how we have already acquired during the development phase and support our clients at the start of the value-adding chain with precise-fitting materials, components and systems for the respective use. The Fraunhofer IMWS thus makes a decisive contribution to resource efficiency and the competitiveness of its clients.

Equipment development – engineered by IMWS

Geräteentwicklung Fortschritt Innovation
© Fraunhofer IMWS

Scientists of the Fraunhofer IMWS have developed the microPREP, with which samples for microscopy can be processed faster.

Successful microstructure analysis for the benefit of our clients is only possible by using high-calibre instruments. Complex issues require precise-fitting equipment and so, based on our many years’ of experience with existing techniques, we are becoming increasingly involved in the development of new equipment. To achieve this, longstanding cooperations with our partners in industry are indispensable.

Quality management

We would like our clients to be satisfied and receive the best possible support from us. We are therefore one of the some 20 Fraunhofer Institutes, which are certified to ISO 9001 or other standards.

Many of our clients are themselves accredited or certified and may only place orders or award contracts to laboratories and institutes that are also certified. We work to a quality management system, which is certified to ISO 9001:2008. Our quality management system ensures that our projects can be traced back precisely from the report to the measurement or test results.

With our quality management system we make it easier for our employees to familiarize themselves with their work and optimize ongoing work processes. With clearly defined responsibilities, our processes are very easy to comprehend and reproduce transparent to all - including possible stand-ins.

Leitbild

Institut, IMWS, Vordereingang, Eingang
© Foto Fraunhofer IMWS

Das Hauptgebäude des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS in Halle.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS ist ein methodisch ausgerichtetes Fraunhofer-Institut in den Fachdisziplinen Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik. Das Fraunhofer IMWS ist Ansprechpartner für die Industrie und öffentliche Auftraggeber für alle Fragestellungen, die die Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen betreffen – mit dem Ziel, Materialeffizienz und Wirtschaftlichkeit zu steigern und Ressourcen zu schonen.

Die Arbeiten des Fraunhofer IMWS zielen darauf ab, Fehler und Schwachstellen in Werkstoffen, Bauteilen und Systemen auf der Mikro- und Nanoskala zu identifizieren, deren Ursachen aufzuklären und darauf aufbauend Lösungen für die Kunden anzubieten. Die industriellen Auftraggeber des Instituts kommen unter anderem aus dem Bereich der Mikroelektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik, der Photovoltaik, der Kunststofftechnik, der chemischen Industrie, der Energietechnik, dem Automobilbau oder dem Flugzeugbau. Diese Arbeiten werden begleitet durch die Weiterentwicklung von mikrostrukturaufklärenden Methoden. Zusammen mit Analytikgeräteherstellern können passgenaue Gerätekonfigurationen entwickelt werden, damit industrielle Auftraggeber in Zukunft Fehlerquellen selbst erkennen und vermeiden können.

Als Institut der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft fördert und betreibt das Fraunhofer IMWS international vernetzt anwendungsorientierte Forschung zum unmittelbaren Nutzen für die Wirtschaft und zum Vorteil für die Gesellschaft. Es leistet wichtige Beiträge zur Materialeffizienz, Ressourcenschonung und Wirtschaftlichkeit und stellt sich damit der zentralen Herausforderung des 21. Jahrhunderts, der Nachhaltigkeit aller Lebensbereiche und insbesondere dem effizienten Umgang mit begrenzten Rohstoffen. Gleichzeitig trägt es somit zur Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Sachsen-Anhalt, Deutschland und Europa bei.

Das Fraunhofer IMWS stellt an sich selbst höchste wissenschaftliche und technologische Anforderungen. Es erarbeitet kosteneffizient und qualitätsgesichert hochwertige innovative Lösungen für seine Kunden. In seinen Kernkompetenzen Mikrostrukturdiagnostik und Mikrostrukturdesign ist das Fraunhofer IMWS innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft führend und international anerkannt. Seinen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern bietet das Fraunhofer IMWS Möglichkeiten zur persönlichen Entwicklung und fördert sie in ihrer wissenschaftlichen und unternehmerischen Qualifizierung.

Mikrostrukturdiagnostik – discovered by IMWS

Miskrokopie ultra Mikrostruktur Forschung
© Foto Fraunhofer IMWS

Einblicke bis auf die kleinste Ebene gewinnen die Forscher am Fraunhofer IMWS unter anderem mit einem Atomkraftmikroskop.

Schon seit den 1960er-Jahren wird am Standort Halle in den Vorgängereinrichtungen des Fraunhofer IMWS exzellente Mikrostrukturaufklärung betrieben. Seit 1992 hat das Fraunhofer IMWS mehr als 35 Millionen Euro in Geräte zur Mikrostrukturaufklärung investiert. Damit verfügt das Institut innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft über die umfassendste Ausstattung zur Mikrostrukturaufklärung.

Bis zur atomaren Ebene hinunter bestimmen wir damit mikrostrukturelle Werkstoff- und Bauteilmerkmale und die daraus resultierenden Eigenschaften im Einsatzfall. Wir treffen Aussagen zu Materialzusammensetzungen, Gefüge- und Kristallstrukturen, Fehler- und Defektbildungen sowie Reaktions- und Verschleißprozessen. Neben der mikrostrukturbasierten Technologieentwicklung steht die Entwicklung neuer Hochdurchsatzratenscreening-Methoden im Vordergrund.

Wir setzen die Mikrostruktur in Korrelation zu lokalen mechanischen, elektrischen und thermophysikalischen Eigenschaften und machen so Leistungsreservoirs nutzbar. Unser Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei auf Halbleitern, Polymeren und biologischen Materialien.

Mikrostrukturdesign – designed by IMWS

Profil Nachhaltigkeit Verbesserung Verbindung Gummi
© Foto Fraunhofer IMWS

Die Zusammensetzung von Füllstoffen in Kautschuk-Kompositen wird am IMWS optimiert - das ermöglicht spritsparende Reifen.

Das Verständnis und die die Beherrschung der Mikrostruktur ermöglichen uns Eingriffe in fundamentale Materialeigenschaften. Mit Hilfe von Mikrostrukturdesign bringen wir unser Material-Know-how bereits während der Entwicklungsphase ein und unterstützen unsere Kunden am Beginn der Wertschöpfungskette mit passgenauen Werkstoffen, Bauteilen und Systemen für den jeweiligen Einsatz. Das Fraunhofer IMWS leistet damit einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Ressourceneffizienz und der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit seiner Kunden.

Geräteentwicklung – engineered by IMWS

Geräteentwicklung Fortschritt Innovation
© Foto Fraunhofer IMWS

Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer IMWS haben das Gerät microPREP entwickelt, mit dem Proben für die Mikroskopie schneller bearbeitet werden können.

Erfolgreiche Mikrostrukturanalytik im Sinne unserer Kunden ist nur durch den Einsatz von hochkarätigem Instrumentarium möglich. Komplexe Fragestellungen erfordern passgenaue Gerätschaften und so engagieren wir uns aufbauend auf unserer langjährigen Erfahrung mit vorhandenen Techniken zunehmend für die Entwicklung neuer Geräte. Unabdingbar dafür sind langjährige Kooperationen mit unseren Industriepartnern.

Qualitätsmanagement

Wir möchten, dass unsere Kunden zufrieden sind und bestmöglich von uns betreut werden. Darum gehören wir zu den rund 20 Fraunhofer-Instituten, die sich nach ISO 9001 oder anderen Standards zertifizieren lassen.

Viele unserer Kunden sind selbst akkreditiert oder zertifiziert und dürfen ihre Aufträge nur an ebenfalls zertifizierte Labore und Institute vergeben. Wir arbeiten nach einem Qualitätsmanagement-System, das nach DIN ISO 9001:2008 zertifiziert ist. Unser Qualitätsmanagement-System gewährleistet, dass unsere Projekte vom Bericht bis zu den Messergebnissen präzise rückverfolgt werden können.

Mit unserem Qualitätsmanagement-System erleichtern wir unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, sich einzuarbeiten und optimieren die laufenden Arbeitsprozesse. Mit klaren Verantwortlichkeiten definiert, sind unsere Prozesse sehr leicht nachvollziehbar und transparent für alle - auch für eventuelle Vertretungen.