Leuna

Fraunhofer Electrolysis Platform Leuna ELP

© Gunter Binsack/Fraunhofer CBP

The Fraunhofer Center for Chemical-Biotechnological Processes CBP in Leuna.

Future use of »green« hydrogen, which is produced from renewable energy by means of electrolysis, is a decisive pillar for successful implementation of the German “Energiewende” (exit from nuclear and fossil-fuel energy). In particular, it also produces attractive possible uses in the chemical industry.

The planned Fraunhofer Electrolysis Test Platform Leuna ELP is intended to be used together with partners from industry, for example, from the HYPOS project, to show that in Germany the energy-intensive chemical industry uses the opportunity of decarbonization with or in spite of the Energiewende. The preparation and application procedures are currently underway, construction could begin at the end of 2017. The Fraunhofer Electrolysis Test Platform Leuna ELP has been conceived as a joint research unit of the Fraunhofer IMWS in Halle and the Fraunhofer CBP in Leuna.

The planned platform is intended to enable the future economic relevance of such plants on an industrial scale to be tested, evaluated and made marketable for the chemical industry through supporting research and development work. At the same time the facility for application-orientated research is intended to enable the interface between electricity generation and storage and recovery and use of the hydrogen produced in a chemical park for the first time in Germany. In this way, in particular the intention is to create the basis by which the regional surplus electricity available in Saxony Anhalt, whose share is increasing, can be recovered and used in a value-adding way in the region.

The industrial landscape the in the southern part of Saxony-Anhalt is characterized by the central German “chemical triangle”. Numerous large-scale chemical industry companies have moved into the Leuna, Schkopau and Bitterfeld locations.

Leuna

Fraunhofer-Elektrolyseplattform Leuna ELP

© Foto Gunter Binsack/Fraunhofer CBP

Das Fraunhofer-Zentrum für Chemisch-Biotechnologische Prozesse CBP in Leuna.

Die zukünftige Nutzung von »grünem« Wasserstoff, der aus erneuerbaren Energien mittels Elektrolyse hergestellt wird, stellt eine maßgebliche Säule für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung der Energiewende dar. Insbesondere ergeben sich daraus auch attraktive Nutzungsmöglichkeiten in der chemischen Industrie.

Mit der geplanten Fraunhofer-Elektrolysetest- und -versuchsplattform Leuna ELP soll gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern, zum Beispiel aus dem Projekt HYPOS, gezeigt werden, dass in Deutschland mit oder trotz Energiewende die energieintensive Chemieindustrie die Chance der Dekarbonisierung nutzt. Derzeit laufen die Vorbereitungs- und Antragsverfahren, Ende 2017 könnte der Bau beginnen. Die Fraunhofer Elektrolysetest- und -versuchsplattform Leuna ELP ist als eine gemeinsame Forschungseinheit des Fraunhofer IMWS in Halle und des Fraunhofer CBP in Leuna konzipiert.

Die geplante Plattform soll es ermöglichen, die zukünftige technisch-ökonomische Relevanz solcher Anlagen im großtechnischen Bereich zu testen, zu evaluieren und durch unterstützende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten für die chemische Industrie marktauglich zu machen. Zugleich soll die Einrichtung für die anwendungsorientierte Forschung die Schnittstelle zwischen der Stromerzeugung und -speicherung sowie Verwertung des erzeugten Wasserstoffs erstmalig in Deutschland in einem Chemiepark ermöglichen. Damit soll insbesondere die Basis geschaffen werden, den in Sachsen-Anhalt vorhandenen und zunehmenden Anteil von regionalem Überschussstrom in der Region wertschöpfend zu verwerten.

Die Industrielandschaft im südlichen Landesteil von Sachsen-Anhalt ist durch das mitteldeutsche Chemiedreieck geprägt. An den Standorten Leuna, Schkopau und Bitterfeld haben sich zahlreiche Unternehmen der chemischen Großindustrie angesiedelt.

Die Standorte des Fraunhofer IMWS

Forschungsarbeit in Halle, Schkopau, Leuna und Soest