Sandwich panels with honeycomb core

ThermHex Waben GmbH and the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS in Halle are working together in a joint research on the development of production and processing methods suitable for series production of organic sheet sandwich semi-finished products.

Wabenstruktur Firma Leichtbau
© ThermHex Waben GmbH

Continuous production of thermoplastic honeycomb cores

The patented ThermHex process enables continuous in-line production of thermoplastic honeycomb cores. In other processes, each layer of the honeycomb must be cut individually from a block and then laminated. This makes the conventional production methods for honeycomb cores time-consuming and expensive – with ThermHex, all production steps take place within one production line.

After the extrusion the material sheet is deep-drawn by rotary-vacuum forming, folded, laminated and cut to the length required by the customer. The production plant in Halle can be used to produce honeycomb cores from 3 to 30 mm thick and with an individual length of up to 6 metres; the production rate reaches up to 10 metres per minute.

The honeycomb cores are used in particular by the fiber composite industry to make sandwich panels and components which, for example, are used in truck bodies, car interiors or bathroom pos and in swimming pools.

The process is more resource efficient and significantly more cost effective than the conventional processes for the production of honeycomb cores. With this process, ThermHex Waben GmbH can produce large quantities considerably more cost effectively and since the start of production in 2010 has repeatedly increased its production volume up to the present day 500,000 m².

Most recently, in December 2015, the production capacity for honeycomb cores was doubled again with the installation of a new extruder with higher throughput rate. In this way, on the one hand the delivery periods for customer orders reduces significantly. On the other hand, scope results for forward-looking development projects and innovations, for example, for a joint research project with the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS. This objective of this project, supported by the EU through the EFRE programme, is to research into the production and processing of organic sheet sandwich semi-finished products suitable for series production.

Flat organic sheet sandwich semi-finished products

Organic sheet sandwich semi-finished products are made up of very thin layers of thermoplastic fiber composite materials (organic sheets), which are held apart by a thermoplastic honeycomb core, so that a high level of stiffness is made possible with minimum weigh, and without additional stiffening ribs. These semi-finished products are particularly cost efficient when they are attached to the honeycomb in-line in a continuous process and are bonded with the core.

In further production steps they are then processed further to make components. To this end, for example they are formed and functionalized through injection moulding. Only the continuous ThermHex process of honeycomb production in one production line enables the production of cost-efficient flat organic sandwich semi-finished products in continuous production, which integrates the continuous lamination of the organic sheet cover layers. With automated in-line quality control, critical quality characteristics can also be monitored efficiently during the process.

 

Herstellung Fertigung Prozess Schema Darstellung
© ThermHex Waben GmbH

Automated in-line production of organic sandwich semi-finished products.

Complex sandwich components from the injection moulding machine

Further processing of the organic sheet sandwich semi-finished products can take place in the fully-automated hybrid injection casting process for large production series applications. This process, with semi-continuous working with four process steps enables functionalized sandwich components to be produced, ready for use, within short cycle times.

© Fraunhofer IMWS

Process chain for the production of thermoplastic-based lightweight structures in hybrid injection casting.

The flat sandwich semi-finished products are first heated contact-free with the help of medium-wave infrared (IR) heaters. These enable precise control of the heat input and thus a defined temperature profile to be set across the cross-section of the semi-finished products. The matrix material of the cover layers is heated above its melting temperature, while the thermoplastic honeycomb core is significantly below its melting temperature and thus retains its elastic-plastic behavior and its stability.

After reaching the optimum temperature profile in the semi-finished product for further processing the cut-to-size sandwich is inserted into the cavity of the injection moulding machine. This process step is performed fully-automated, quickly and with high precision via an articulated arm robot. This ensures that the temperature profile for the subsequent forming is maintained in the sandwich during the insertion process.

The thermoforming of the flat sandwich semi-finished product into shell-shaped structures takes place during the closing movement of the injection mould. During this, sliding processes between the fibers, within the cover layers and in the molten matrix material and the plastic forming of the honeycomb overlap. A special test rig was developed for process-orientated examination of the thermoforming behavior in the vertical installed position. This allows differentiated investigation of the shear forces in the individual laminate layers and in the sandwich composite.

Following complete closing of the injection moulding cavity and on reaching a predefined closing force the formed sandwich components are functionalized in the conventional injection moulding cycle. Current investigations are focussed on the development of new methods for economical production of selective point and full face joints by means of injection moulding technology for thermoplastic sandwich construction. Such functionalized sandwich components can be joined with other technical components or systems without additional rework, for example, by means of screwed or riveted joint and thus increase the potential for integration in existing lightweight solutions, for example, in the automotive industry. The development steps described are supported by systematic experimental studies and numerical analyses during the test, of the forming and material behavior. This approach enables highly efficient development of the necessary basic knowledge for the component and process design at a later stage. The results of the project are due to be demonstrated on a generic test structure at the end of the project period in August 2017.

Nutzfahrzeuge Leichtbau Einsatzmöglichkeit
© ThermHex Waben GmbH

Sandwich panels with honeycomb core are used, for example for truck bodies.

Leicht, robust und materialeffizient - dank Wabenkern

Die ThermHex Waben GmbH und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS aus Halle arbeiten in einem gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekt an der Entwicklung serientauglicher Herstellungs- und Verarbeitungsverfahren für Organoblech-Sandwich-Halbzeuge.

Wabenstruktur Firma Leichtbau
© Foto ThermHex Waben GmbH

Kontinuierliche Herstellung von thermoplastischen Wabenkernen

Das patentierte ThermHex-Verfahren ermöglicht die kontinuierliche in-line Produktion von thermoplastischen Wabenkernen. In anderen Verfahren muss jede Lage der Waben einzeln von einem Block geschnitten und anschließend laminiert werden. Das macht die konventionellen Herstellungsmethoden von Wabenkernen aufwendig und teuer – bei ThermHex erfolgen alle Produktionsschritte innerhalb einer Produktionslinie.

Nach der Extrusion wird die Materialbahn dabei rotationsvakuumtiefgezogen, aufgefaltet, laminiert und auf die vom Kunden gewünschte Länge zugeschnitten. Mit der Produktionsanlage in Halle können Wabenkerne mit 3 bis 30 mm Dicke und einer individuellen Länge bis zu 6 Metern gefertigt werden, die Produktionsgeschwindigkeit reicht bis zu 10 Metern pro Minute.

Die Wabenkerne werden insbesondere von der Faserverbundindustrie zu Sandwichplatten und -bauteilen verarbeitet, die beispielsweise in Lkw-Aufbauten, im Automobilinterieur oder in Fertigbädern und in Schwimmbecken Anwendung finden.

Das Verfahren ist ressourceneffizienter und deutlich kostengünstiger als die herkömmlichen Verfahren zur Herstellung von Wabenkernen. Die ThermHex Waben GmbH kann durch dieses Verfahren Wabenkerne in großen Stückzahlen deutlich kostengünstiger produzieren und konnte seit dem Produktionsstart im Jahr 2010 ihr Produktionsvolumen mehrfach auf nun 500.000 m² steigern.

Zuletzt wurde im Dezember 2015 mit der Installation eines neuen Extruders mit höherem Durchsatz die Produktionskapazität für Wabenkerne nochmals verdoppelt. Damit verkürzen sich zum einen die Lieferzeiten für Kundenanfragen deutlich. Zum anderen ergeben sich Freiräume für zukunftsorientierte Entwicklungsprojekte und Innovationen, so zum Beispiel für ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS. Dieses durch die EU im Rahmen des EFRE-Programms unterstütze Projekt hat die Erforschung der serientauglichen Herstellung und Verarbeitung von Organoblech-Sandwich-Halbzeugen zum Ziel.

Ebene Organoblech-Sandwich-Halbzeuge

Organoblech-Sandwich-Halbzeuge bestehen aus zwei sehr dünnen Lagen aus thermoplastischen Faserverbundwerkstoffen (Organoblechen), die  durch einen thermoplastischen Wabenkern auf Abstand gehalten werden, so dass eine hohe Steifigkeit bei minimalem Gewicht möglich wird, und zwar ohne zusätzliche Versteifungsrippen. Besonders kosteneffizient werden diese Halbzeuge dann, wenn sie in einem kontinuierlichen Prozess in-line auf den Wabenkern aufgebracht und mit diesem verbunden werden.

In weiteren Produktionsschritten werden diese dann zu Bauteilen weiterverarbeitet. Dazu werden sie beispielsweise umgeformt und durch Spritzguss funktionalisiert. Erst der kontinuierliche ThermHex-Prozess der Wabenproduktion in einer Produktionslinie ermöglicht die Herstellung von kosteneffizienten ebenen Organosandwich-Halbzeugen in einer durchgehenden Produktion, die das kontinuierliche Auflaminieren der Organoblech-Decklagen integriert. Mit einer automatisierten in-line Qualitätskontrolle können darüber hinaus kritische Qualitätsmerkmale im Prozess effizient überwacht werden.

Herstellung Fertigung Prozess Schema Darstellung
© Foto ThermHex Waben GmbH

Automatisierte In-line-Produktion von Organosandwich-Halbzeugen.

Komplexe Sandwichbauteile aus der Spritzgussmaschine

Die Weiterverarbeitung der Organoblech-Sandwich-Halbzeuge kann für Großserienanwendungen im vollautomatisierten Hybridspritzgussprozess erfolgen. Dieses Verfahren, mit semikontinuierlicher Arbeitsweise, ermöglicht es in vier Prozessschritten, funktionalisierte Sandwichbauteile innerhalb kurzer Zykluszeiten verwertungsfertig herzustellen.

© Foto Fraunhofer IMWS

Prozesskette zur Herstellung von thermoplastbasierten Leichtbaustrukturen im Hybrid-Spitzguss.

Die ebenen Sandwich-Halbzeuge werden zunächst kontaktfrei mit Hilfe von mittelwelligen Infrarot (IR)-Strahlern erwärmt. Diese ermöglichen eine präzise Steuerung des Wärmeeintrags und somit das Einstellen eines definierten Temperaturprofils über den Querschnitt der Halbzeuge. Das Matrixmaterial der Decklagen wird dabei über die Schmelztemperatur erwärmt, während der thermoplastische Wabenkern deutlich unter seiner Schmelztemperatur liegt und damit sein elastisch-plastisches Verhalten und seine Stabilität beibehält.

Nach Erreichen des für die Weiterverarbeitung optimalen Temperaturprofils im Halbzeug erfolgt das Einlegen des Sandwichzuschnittes in die Kavität der Spritzgussmaschine. Dieser Prozessschritt wird vollautomatisiert, schnell und mit hoher Präzision über einen Knickarmroboter durchgeführt. Dies sichert die Aufrechterhaltung des für die anschließende Umformung eingestellten Temperaturprofils im Sandwich während des Einlegeprozesses.

Das Warmumformen der ebenen Sandwichhalbzeuge zu schalenförmigen Strukturen erfolgt während der Schließbewegung des Spritzgusswerkzeuges. Hierbei überlagern sich Abgleitvorgänge zwischen den Fasern, innerhalb der Decklagen und im schmelzflüssigem Matrixmaterial sowie das plastische Verformen des Wabenkerns. Zur prozessnahen Untersuchung des Warmumformverhaltens in vertikaler Einbaulage wurde ein spezieller Versuchstand entwickelt. Dieser erlaubt eine differenzierte Untersuchung der Scherkräfte in den Laminateinzelschichten und im Sandwichverbund.

Nach vollständigem Schließen der Spritzgusskavität und mit Erreichen einer vordefinierten Schließkraft erfolgt das Funktionalisieren der umgeformten Sandwichbauteile im konventionellen Spritzgießzyklus. Dabei liegt der Fokus der aktuellen Untersuchungen auf der Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur wirtschaftlichen Herstellung von punktuellen sowie flächigen Fügestellen mittels Spritzgusstechnologie für thermoplastische Sandwichbauweisen. Derart funktionalisierte Sandwichbauteile lassen sich ohne zusätzliche Nacharbeit mit anderen technischen Komponenten oder Systemen, beispielsweise mittels Schraub- oder Nietverbindung, fügen und erhöhen somit das Potenzial zur Integration in bestehende Leichtbaulösungen, zum Beispiel in der Automobilindustrie. Die beschriebenen Entwicklungsschritte werden durch systematische experimentelle Studien sowie versuchsbegleitende numerische Analysen zum Umform- und Werkstoffverhalten unterstützt. Dieser Ansatz ermöglicht eine hocheffiziente  Entwicklung der notwendigen Grundlagenkenntnisse für die spätere Bauteil- und Prozessauslegung. Die Ergebnisse des Vorhabens sollen zum Ende der Projektlaufzeit im August 2017 an einer generischen Versuchsstruktur demonstriert werden.

Nutzfahrzeuge Leichtbau Einsatzmöglichkeit
© Foto ThermHex Waben GmbH

Sandwichplatten mit Wabenkern kommen beispielsweise für Lkw-Aufbauten zum Einsatz.