Portrait of Director Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ralf B. Wehrspohn

Graduate in physics | Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS in Halle and Professor of Microstructured Material Design at the Mar tin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

© Fraunhofer/Jürgen Lösel
Prof. Dr. Ralf B. Wehrspohn leads Fraunhofer IMWS since 2006.

Is impatience a virtue? Some say that impatient people are a thorn in the side of those around them, while others point to the benefits when the eager drive things forward and bring momentum to projects and structures. As a self-confessed impatient person, Ralf Wehrspohn can see both the positives and the negatives.

If you ask his employees and the research community, you get a resounding answer: Ralf Wehrspohn, Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS, is exactly the person for the job. That is because he drives the institute forwards. Structures and portfolios are modified, and there is no waiting around for success. Since the physicist took the helm, the business of the institute has blossomed, and its staff has tripled.

On a personal level, too, Ralf has reaped the rewards of his unstinting effort. Highlights include a doctorate at the renowned École Polytechnique in France, the development of the first flat screens at Philips in England, postdoctoral qualification at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, a professorship at the University of Paderborn, selection as one of “the 101 most innovative minds in Germany” by the Financial Times Germany, and the German Research Foundation’s Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize – and these achievements have undoubtedly supplied the ambitious physicist with additional motivation. Then came his appointment as Director of a Fraunhofer Institute – the youngest institute director. Ralf recalls how his predecessor Prof. Katzer told him at the time that the job was “the best you could get without being the Pope. Then I told him that since I was a protestant, it would be the best job bar none. And so it has proven.”

Ralf’s work focuses on materials research – a topic that he believes doesn’t get the attention it deserves either in research or in the public imagination. He has resolved to change this situation, since 70 percent of all innovations in Germany have to do with materials. As a result, extra research here is of great benefit to society and the economy. Since being appointed vice chairman of the Fraunhofer Group for Materials and Components – MATERIALS, and spokesman for the Materials Data Space initiative, he has found even more of a reception for his ideas in this regard.

The materials researcher is convinced of the need to engage the public, and his communication efforts are voluntary as well as professional. He was involved, for instance, in science2public, an initiative that aimed to establish short films as a way to communicate research, and helped set up several related film festivals. Currently, he is working on allying art and science within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, for instance through the “Art and science in dialog” event, which took place in the Fraunhofer Forum in June 2016. Thus, Ralf’s energy and enthusiasm bears fruit far beyond his own institute – and it seems that the opening question is answered, at least for him.

Institutsleiter Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ralf B. Wehrspohn im Porträt

Diplom-Physiker | Leiter des Fraunhofer- Instituts für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS in Halle und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Mikrostrukturbasier tes Materialdesign an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

© Fraunhofer/Jürgen Lösel

Prof. Dr. Ralf B. Wehrsohn leitet das Fraunhofer IMWS seit 2006.

Ist Ungeduld eine Tugend? Manche sagen, Ungeduldige strapazieren ihr soziales Umfeld, andere schätzen es, wenn umtriebige Menschen Dinge vorantreiben und Bewegung in Projekte und Strukturen bringen. Ralf Wehrspohn sieht sowohl die Vorteile als auch die Nachteile, und er muss es wissen, denn er schätzt sich selbst als ziemlich ungeduldig ein.

Fragt man die Mitarbeitenden und das Kollegium des Wissenschaftlers, erhält man eine klare Antwort: Ralf Wehrspohn, Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS, ist genau der Richtige auf seinem Posten. Denn er bringt das Institut nach vorn. Struktur und Portfolio werden angepasst – und der Erfolg lässt nicht auf sich warten. Seit der Physiker die Verantwortung trägt, hat sich die wirtschaftliche Perspektive des Instituts hervorragend entwickelt und die Belegschaft verdreifacht.

Auch für Ralf Wehrspohn selbst zahlt sich sein unermüdlicher Einsatz aus: Eine Promotion an der höchst renommierten École Polytechnique in Frankreich, die Entwicklung der ersten Flachbildschirme bei Philips in England, die Habilitation an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, die Professur an der Universität Paderborn, die Wahl unter die »101 innovativsten Köpfe in Deutschland« im Ranking der »Financial Times Deutschland« und der Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft sorgten bei dem aufstrebenden Physiker für einen zusätzlichen Motivationsschub. Und dann die Leitung eines Fraunhofer-Instituts, als jüngster Institutsleiter – Ralf Wehrspohn kennt dazu eine Anekdote: »Mein Vorgänger Professor Katzer pries diese Position damals mit dem Bonmot an, das sei der schönste Job nach dem des Papstes. Ich erwiderte, dass ich Protestant bin und dass es dann wohl der schönste Job überhaupt sein müsse. Und so ist es auch.«

Ralf Wehrspohns Hauptarbeitsgebiet ist die Werkstoffforschung – ein Thema, das aus seiner Sicht in Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit zu wenig Aufmerksamkeit erfährt. Das will er ändern, denn 70 Prozent aller Innovationen in Deutschland sind werkstoffbasiert. Wer hier die Forschung intensiviert, kann also viel für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft tun. Wehrspohns Ideen in diesem Bereich finden noch mehr Gehör, seit er auch stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Werkstoffe, Bauteile – MATERIALS und Sprecher der Initiative Materials Data Space geworden ist.

Der Draht zur Öffentlichkeit ist dem Materialforscher sehr wichtig: In der Kommunikation engagiert er sich nicht nur beruflich, sondern auch ehrenamtlich. So wirkte er bei science2public daran mit, den Kurzfilm als neues Genre für die Wissenschaftskommunikation zu erschließen und mehrere Filmfestivals rund um diesen Themenbereich zu etablieren. Aktuell arbeitet er daran, Wissenschaft und Kunst innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft als Allianz zu etablieren, etwa mit der Veranstaltung »Kunst und Wissenschaft im Dialog«, die im Juni 2016 im Fraunhofer- Forum stattfand. Ralf Wehrspohns energiegeladene Arbeitsweise zeigt also weit über sein Institut hinaus positive Wirkung – womit die anfängliche Frage, zumindest bezogen auf seine Person, beantwortet ist.