Schkopau

Fraunhofer Pilot Plant Center for Polymer Synthesis and Processing PAZ

ValuePark Partnerinstitut IMWS Standort Verbund
© Fraunhofer IMWS

The Fraunhofer Pilot Plant Center for Polymer Synthesis and Processing PAZ in ValuePark Schkopau.

Since 2005, new polymer products and innovative technologies along the entire value-added chain, from the monomer to polymer synthesis and plastic processing in pilot scale through to the tested component, have been developed to order in the Fraunhofer Pilot Plant Centre for Polymer Synthesis and Processing PAZ. This combination and size makes the Fraunhofer PAZ unique in Europe. Working on behalf of clients from the plastics or automotive industry, the centre implements all kinds of different polymer synthesis and processing methods, tailor-made to a near-industrial scale. The Centre currently has a pilot plant and laboratory area of around 1700 square metres. The work also includes handling lightweight construction and bio-based materials, which can replace petroleum-based polymers.

The Fraunhofer PAZ is a joint initiative of the Fraunhofer Institutes for Applied Polymer Research IAP in Potsdam-Golm and for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS in Halle. Headed by Prof. Michael Bartke (IAP), the two institutes pool their expertise in polymer synthesis (IAP) and polymer processing (IMWS) in a unique way. This cooperation, the technical possibilities in pilot scale and the high degree of flexibility of the facilities are unique selling propositions in the R&D market.

Information on the technical facilities.

Information on how to get there.

Website of the Fraunhofer PAZ.

Module Technology Center of the Fraunhofer CSP

© Fraunhofer CSP

The Module Technology Center of the Fraunhofer CSP in ValuePark Schkopau.

The Module Technology Center of the Fraunhofer Center for Silicon Photovoltaics CSP, together with clients from the photovoltaics industry, implements application-orientated research projects. The Centre has approx. 2000 m² of pilot plant. Working in cooperation with equipment and module manufacturers, the employees develop strategies for the processing of new cell layouts and for the production of alternative module technologies. The objective is to reduce manufacturing costs and increase module efficiency. To this end, among other things, the Module Technology Center has a module production line (module sizes 0.7 x 1.2 m to 2.2 x 2.6 m) and state-of-the-art equipment for the production of standard modules as well as special formats.

A further focal area of the facility, which opened in 2011, is the use of plastics in photovoltaics. Through its location in ValuePark Schkopau industrial park and its immediate vicinity to the Fraunhofer Pilot Plant Center for Polymer Synthesis and Processing PAZ, the Module Technology Centre offers ideal conditions.

Information on the technical facilities.

Website of the Fraunhofer CSP.

Schkopau

Fraunhofer-Pilotanlagenzentrum für Polymersynthese und -verarbeitung PAZ

ValuePark Partnerinstitut IMWS Standort Verbund
© Foto Fraunhofer IMWS

Das Fraunhofer-Pilotanlagenzentrum für Polymersynthese und -verarbeitung PAZ im ValuePark Schkopau.

Seit 2005 werden im Fraunhofer-Pilotanlagenzentrum für Polymersynthese und -verarbeitung PAZ in Schkopau neue Polymer-Produkte und innovative Technologien entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette entwickelt – vom Monomer über die Polymersynthese und Kunststoffverarbeitung im Pilotmaßstab bis hin zum geprüften Bauteil nach Maß. In dieser Kombination und Größenordnung ist das Fraunhofer PAZ einmalig in Europa. Im Auftrag von Kunden etwa aus der Kunststoff- oder Automobilindustrie werden auf einer Technikums- und Laborfläche von derzeit rund 1700 Quadratmetern unterschiedlichste Polymersynthese- und Verarbeitungsverfahren maßgeschneidert bis in den industrienahen Maßstab umgesetzt. Dazu gehören auch der Umgang mit Leichtbau- und bio-basierten Materialien, die erdölbasierte Polymere ersetzen können.

Das Fraunhofer PAZ ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der Fraunhofer-Institute für Angewandte Polymerforschung IAP in Potsdam-Golm und für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS in Halle. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Michael Bartke (IAP) bündeln beide Einrichtungen ihre Kompetenzen in der Polymersynthese (IAP) und Polymerverarbeitung (IMWS) in  einzigartiger Weise. Diese Zusammenarbeit, die technischen Möglichkeiten im Pilotmaßstab sowie die hohe Flexibilität der Anlagen sind Alleinstellungsmerkmale am FuE-Markt.

Informationen zur technischen Ausstattung.

Informationen zur Anreise.

Website des Fraunhofer PAZ.

Modultechnologiezentrum des Fraunhofer CSP

© Foto Fraunhofer CSP

Das Modultechnologiezentrum des Fraunhofer CSP im ValuePark Schkopau.

Am Modultechnologiezentrum des Fraunhofer-Centers für Silizium-Photovoltaik CSP werden auf ca. 2000 m² Technikumsfläche anwendungsorientierte Forschungsprojekte gemeinsam mit Kunden aus der Photovoltaik-Industrie umgesetzt. In Kooperation mit Geräte- und Modulherstellern entwickeln die Mitarbeiter Strategien zur Anlagenentwicklung für die Verarbeitung neuer Zelllayouts sowie zur Herstellung alternativer Modultechniken. Ziel ist die Verringerung der Herstellungskosten und die Erhöhung des Modulwirkungsgrades. Dazu verfügt das Modultechnologiezentrum unter anderem über eine Modulfertigungsline (Modulgrößen 0,7 x 1,2 m bis 2,2 x 2,6 m) und modernste Geräte zur Herstellung von Standardmodulen ebenso wie von Sonderformaten.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der 2011 eröffneten Einrichtung ist der Einsatz von Kunststoffen in der Photovoltaik. Dabei bietet das Modultechnologiezentrum ideale Voraussetzungen durch den Standort im ValuePark Schkopau und die unmittelbare Nachbarschaft zum Fraunhofer-Pilotanlagenzentrum für Polymersynthese und -verarbeitung PAZ.

Informationen zur technischen Ausstattung.

Website des Fraunhofer CSP.

Die Standorte des Fraunhofer IMWS

Forschungsarbeit in Halle, Schkopau, Leuna und Soest