Director

Professor Matthias Petzold

Prof. Dr. Matthias Petzold, Deputy Director

Prof. Dr. Matthias Petzold has been a member of the institute's management since 2003. From October 2019 until the end of 2021 he acted as acting institute director of the Fraunhofer IMWS, since then as deputy institute director. He studied physics at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg in Halle (Saale) and received his doctorate in 1987. After working at the university and for two years for the ceramics industry, he moved in 1991 to the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials in Halle, the predecessor institution of the Fraunhofer IMWS, which was currently being established.

Since its foundation as a branch office in 1992, he has contributed significantly to the establishment and scientifically and economically successful development of the institute with his diverse activities in the fields of materials research and diagnostics of microelectronic devices, strength and reliability of silicon microsystems and investigation of reaction mechanisms of dental products.

From 2003 to 2010, Matthias Petzold was deputy institute section head, then deputy institute director. He headed the business unit "Components of Microelectronics and Microsystems Technology" from 2008 until his appointment as acting institute director. In 2007, he was appointed honorary professor for microsystems technology at Merseburg University of Applied Sciences (FH). Matthias Petzold is author and co-author of more than 100 publications in journals and conference proceedings as well as of various invited lectures at international conferences. He is also active as a reviewer for various international journals.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Höche

© Fraunhofer IMWS
Prof. Dr. Thomas Höche, Deputy Director

Prof. Dr. Thomas Höche has been Deputy Head of the Fraunhofer IMWS since October 1, 2019. Born in Halle, he studied physics at the Martin Luther University in Halle-Wittenberg. This was followed by stints at the Max Planck Institute for Metal Research in Stuttgart, at the Otto Schott Institute for Glass Chemistry at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena, at the Chair of Crystallography of the Institute of Physics at Humboldt University in Berlin and at the Leibniz Institute for Surface Modification e.V. Leipzig (IOM). Parallel to his work at the IOM, he joined 3D-Micromac AG in Chemnitz, where he was responsible for IP management and strategic corporate development, among other things.

In 2005 he completed his habilitation procedure at the University of Leipzig, where he was appointed Associate Professor of Experimental Physics in 2008. He has been working at Fraunhofer IMWS since 2010, where he has been Head of the “Optical Materials and Technologies” business unit since 2018.

His research focuses on the nanostructuring of inorganic materials, especially glass ceramics and optical thin films, as well as their characterization with sophisticated techniques of microstructure diagnostics. In addition, there is the commercialization of new preparation techniques, such as the microPREPTM.

Höche has published more than 200 articles in referenced journals and holds around 30 patents and patent applications. His awards include the Max von Laue Prize of the German Society for Crystallography (2006), the Innovation Prize of TÜV SÜD (2018) and the Hugo Junkers Prize of the State of Saxony-Anhalt, 1st place in the category »Applied Research» (2018).

Thomas Merkel

© Fraunhofer IMWS
Thomas Merkel, Administration Manager

Thomas Merkel studied law at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg and at the University of Zurich with a focus on business law. Following his second state examination, he worked as Legal Counsel in the legal department of Credit Suisse in Frankfurt am Main. There, he was mainly involved with issues of employment, banking, corporate and commercial law. Thomas Merkel was admitted to the bar in September 2004 and additionally to the bar as an in-house lawyer in 2016.

In July 2007, he joined the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft as a consultant to the institute's management for human resources and law at what is now the Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems IMWS. Since January 2009, he has been Head of Administration for the Fraunhofer IMWS and thus responsible for the individual areas of finance, human resources, technical services and IT as well as for the area of law and compliance. Within the institute management, he takes over the administrative tasks of the Fraunhofer IMWS and represents the institute Director in these areas, among other things as an interface to the central administration of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. On a higher level, Thomas Merkel is involved in committees of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft.

Institutsleitung

Prof. Dr. Matthias Petzold

© Fraunhofer IMWS
Prof. Dr. Matthias Petzold, stv. Institutsleiter

Prof. Dr. Matthias Petzold gehört seit 2003 der Institutsleitung an. Von Oktober 2019 bis zum Jahresende 2021 fungierte er als kommissarischer Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer IMWS, seitdem als stellvertretender Institutsleiter. Er studierte Physik an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg in Halle (Saale) und promovierte 1987. Nach seiner Arbeit an der Universität und einer zweijährigen Tätigkeit für die Keramik-Industrie wechselte er im Jahre 1991 an die im Aufbau befindliche Einrichtung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Werkstoffmechanik in Halle, der Vorgänger-Einrichtung des Fraunhofer IMWS.

Seit der Gründung als Außenstelle 1992 trug er mit seinen vielfältigen Aktivitäten in den Themenfeldern Materialforschung und Diagnostik mikroelektronischer Bauelemente, Festigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit von Silizium-Mikrosystemen und Untersuchung von Reaktionsmechanismen von Dentalprodukten wesentlich zum Aufbau und zur wissenschaftlich wie wirtschaftlich erfolgreichen Entwicklung des Instituts bei.

Von 2003 bis 2010 war Matthias Petzold stellvertretender Institutsteilleiter, danach stellvertretender Institutsleiter. Das Geschäftsfeld »Komponenten der Mikroelektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik« leitete er von 2008 bis zu seiner Ernennung zum kommissarischen Institutsleiter. 2007 wurde er zum Honorarprofessor für Mikrosystemtechnik an der Hochschule Merseburg (FH) bestellt. Matthias Petzold ist Autor und Koautor von über 100 Publikationen in Zeitschriften und Konferenzbänden wie auch von verschiedenen eingeladenen Vorträgen auf internationalen Fachtagungen. Er ist außerdem als Gutachter für unterschiedliche internationale Fachzeitschriften tätig.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Höche

© Fraunhofer IMWS
Prof. Dr. Thomas Höche, stv. Institutsleiter

Prof. Dr. Thomas Höche ist seit 1. Oktober 2019 stellvertretender Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer IMWS. Der gebürtige Hallenser studierte Physik an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg. Es folgten Stationen am Max-Planck-Institut für Metallforschung in Stuttgart, am Otto-Schott-Institut für Glaschemie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, am Lehrstuhl für Kristallographie des Instituts für Physik an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und am Leibniz-Institut für Oberflächenmodifizierung e.V. Leipzig (IOM). Parallel zu seiner Tätigkeit am IOM war er bei der 3D-Micromac AG in Chemnitz tätig und verantwortete dort unter anderem IP-Management und strategische Unternehmensentwicklung. 2005 schloss er sein Habilitationsverfahren an der Universität Leipzig ab, 2008 wurde er dort zum Außerordentlichen Professor für Experimentalphysik bestellt. Am Fraunhofer IMWS ist er seit 2010 tätig, seit 2018 leitet er dort das Geschäftsfeld »Optische Materialien und Technologien«.

Schwerpunkt seiner Forschung ist die Nanostrukturierung anorganischer Materialien, insbesondere von Glaskeramiken und optischen Dünnschichten, ebenso wie deren Charakterisierung mit hochentwickelten Techniken der Mikrostrukturdiagnostik. Dazu kommen die Kommerzialisierung neuer Präparationstechniken, wie der microPREPTM.

Höche hat mehr als 200 Beiträge in referierten Zeitschriften veröffentlicht und hält rund 30 Patente und Patentanmeldungen. Zu seinen Auszeichnungen gehören der Max-von-Laue-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Kristallographie (2006), der Innovationspreis des TÜV SÜD (2018) sowie der Hugo-Junkers-Preis des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt, 1. Platz in der Kategorie »Angewandte Forschung« (2018).

Thomas Merkel

© Fraunhofer IMWS
Thomas Merkel, Verwaltungsleiter

Thomas Merkel studierte an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg und an der Universität Zürich Rechtswissenschaften mit wirtschaftsrechtlichem Schwerpunkt. Im Anschluss an sein zweites juristisches Staatsexmanen arbeitete Herr Merkel als Legal Counsel in der Rechtsabteilung der Credit Suisse in Frankfurt am Main. Dort war Herr Merkel im Wesentlichen mit arbeits-, bank-, gesellschafts- und wirtschaftsrechtlichen Fragestellungen beschäftigt. Herr Merkel ist seit September 2004 als Rechtsanwalt und seit 2016 zusätzlich als Syndikusrechtsanwalt zugelassen.

Im Juli 2007 stieß Herr Merkel als Referent der Institutsleitung für Personal und Recht am heutigen Fraunhofer Institut für Mikrostruktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen IMWS zur Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Seit Januar 2009 ist er als Verwaltungsleiter für das Fraunhofer IMWS und damit für die einzelnen Bereiche Finanzen, Personal, Technische Dienste und IT sowie den Bereich Recht und Compliance zuständig. Innerhalb der Institutsleitung übernimmt Herr Merkel deren administrative Aufgaben und vertritt den Institutsleiter auf diesen Gebieten unter anderem als Schnittstelle zur Zentralverwaltung der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Übergeordnet arbeitet Herr Merkel in Gremien der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft mit.