Thin, thinner, ultrathin

Handling Benutzerfreundlichkeit Geraeteentwicklung
© Photo Fraunhofer IMWS

Georg Schusser works on the easy operability of microPREP, a device for laser-based sample preparation.

© Photo Fraunhofer IMWS

Thomas Höche, Michael Krause and Georg Schusser (from left) have developed microPREP, with which laser-based specimen preparation is made possible.

Each analysis is only as good as the quality of the specimen. This also applies to microstructure analyses of materials. Together with 3D-Micromac AG, we at the Fraunhofer IMWS have developed the microPREP system: State-of-the-art laser technology can be used to prepare ultrathin material specimens for electron microscope examination.

Dr. Thomas Höche carefully fixes the specimen of a semiconductor in the holder of the microPREP™ device, folds down the cover and starts the program. While a laser beam prepares the sample inside the device, Höche answers the questions of the potential buyers at one of the most important conferences for electron microscopy, the Microscopy Conference in Göttingen. Dr Höche, head of the development of microPREP™ at the Fraunhofer IMWS, particularly emphasizes the precision and reproducibility of the method. Only 15 minutes after starting the process he presents the finished, prepared specimen. The experts, responsible in their companies for material development and quality control, are impressed. With conventional methods they would need up to a whole day for this step.

Dr Höche heads the nanomaterials and nanoanalysis group in the Fraunhofer IMWS; he is also an untenured Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Leipzig. The experimental physicist came to Halle in 2010 with industrial experience. And thus at the same time returned to his roots. When he looks out of the window of his office he can see the Max Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics. »Over there is where I wrote my dissertation in 1991«, he says. At that time it was where the Institute of Solid State Physics and Electron Microscopy of the GDR’s Academy of Sciences was accommodated.

Following German reunification, a large part of the former Academy Institute became a Max Planck Institute; two workgroups were incorporated into the Fraunhofer IWM in Freiburg. As Höche returned to Halle, after time spent in Stuttgart, Jena, Berlin, Leipzig and Chemnitz, the two former workgroups of the Academy Institute had developed into a flourishing research facility, which initially belonged to the Fraunhofer IWM Freiburg and since 2016 has operated as an independent institute – Fraunhofer IMWS.

Just how important good preparation methods are in microstructure analysis is experienced by Höche daily. Because one of the main pillars of the Fraunhofer IMWS is electron microscope examination of all kinds of materials – from semiconductors from the automotive and entertainment electronics industries through to oxide functional materials. To this end, Fraunhofer IMWS has several transmission electron microscopes (TEM), including the TITAN, Fraunhofer's only aberration-corrected TEM. TITAN can be used to make the crystal structure, chemical element distribution and individual atoms in material specimens visible. In principle it works like a light microscope except that instead of light, electrons penetrate the specimen and produce imageable signals for further analysis.

In order for a specimen to be electron transparent, it must not be thicker than several tens of nanometres – a gigantic challenge for specimen preparation. Mechanical grinding damages the surface by forming defects. Preparation using focussed ion beams causes less damage, but is extremely time-consuming due to its low removal rate. Until now it has been feared that if lasers are used the material is heated and changes its structure.

Höche had the idea of using ultra-short pulsed lasers for the »athermal« specimen preparation back in 2010. At Fraunhofer IMWS he continued his idea with Dr. Michael Krause. »We use a picosecond laser with pulse lengths of one billionth of a second, to avoid heating the specimen material«, explained Krause. Krause and Höche developed the microPREP™ system together with 3D-Micromac AG in Chemnitz – Höche’s former employer. In the prototype the specimen preparation takes place in two steps: A piece of the specimen material cut to size mechanically is given a defined shape with the ultra-short pulse laser and at the same time can be labelled – which excludes mix-ups and is very much approved of by our clients. In the second step, in a certain area of the specimen, an area is >>thinned<< to less than 15 micrometres, here the laser works parallel with the surface. Following the laser preparation with microPREP™, the specimen is only briefly polished in a wide ion beam system or a focussed ion beam before it can be examined in the TEM. The microPREP™ developers are proud to offer specimen preparation that is not only faster, but is also much less expensive.

Michael Krause is currently creating »recipes« for the preparation of all kinds of different materials. He is working on this with Georg Schusser. The laser engineer came to the Fraunhofer IMWS Halle from 3D-Micromac six months ago. Their aim is to make operating microPREP™ as easy as possible. To do this they are using, above all, the touchscreen on which it is possible to zoom and navigate in the same way as on a smartphone. With the help of the built-in camera it is even possible to mark on the screen the precise part of the specimen to be removed.

Following a successful presentation of the system at the Microscopy Conference in Göttingen, the first device has now been delivered to a customer in Asia.

Project manager Höche would like to develop microPREP™ into platform technology for the preparation of all kinds of different samples for different analysis methods. In particular, he has X-ray microscopy in his sights. »This method requires cylindrical samples with around 50 micrometre diameter«, explained the physicist. »In our device we only need to change the sample holder to be able to prepare these cylinders.« He is already sure to receive the attention of the experts at the next trade fair. Because X-ray microscopy is becoming increasingly important in microstructure analysis.

Text: Christine Broll

This is how microPREP works

Dünn, dünner, ultradünn

Handling Benutzerfreundlichkeit Geraeteentwicklung
© Fraunhofer IMWS

Georg Schusser arbeitet an der leichten Bedienbarkeit von microPREP, einem Gerät zur laserbasierten Probenpräparation.

© Fraunhofer IMWS

Thomas Höche, Michael Krause und Georg Schusser (von links) haben microPREP entwickelt, mit dem die laserbasierte Probenpräparation möglich wird.

Jede Analyse ist nur so gut wie die Qualität der Probe. Das gilt auch für Mikrostrukturanalysen von Werkstoffen. Gemeinsam mit der 3D-Micromac AG haben wir am Fraunhofer IMWS die Anlage microPREP™ entwickelt: Mit hochmoderner Lasertechnik lassen sich ultradünne Materialproben schnell und präzise für die elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchung präparieren.

Sorgfältig fixiert Dr. Thomas Höche die Probe eines Halbleiters in der Halterung des microPREP™-Geräts, klappt den Deckel zu und startet das Programm. Während im Innern des Geräts ein Laserstrahl die Probe bearbeitet, beantwortet Höche bei einer der wichtigsten internationalen Tagungen für Elektronenmikroskopie, der Microscopy Conference in Göttingen, die Fragen der Interessenten. Höche, Entwicklungsleiter von microPREP™ am Fraunhofer IMWS, betont besonders die Präzision und Reproduzierbarkeit des Verfahrens. Nur 15 Minuten, nachdem er den Prozess gestartet hat, präsentiert er die fertig präparierte Probe. Die Experten, in ihren Unternehmen für Materialentwicklung und Qualitätskontrolle zuständig, sind beeindruckt. Mit herkömmlichen Methoden bräuchten sie für diesen Arbeitsschritt bis zu einem Tag.

Höche leitet am IMWS die Gruppe Nanomaterialien und Nanoanalytik, er ist außerplanmäßiger Professor für Experimentalphysik an der Universität Leipzig. Der Experimentalphysiker kam 2010 mit Industrieerfahrung nach Halle. Und kehrte damit zugleich zu seinen Wurzeln zurück. Wenn er aus dem Fenster seines Büros schaut, blickt er auf das Max-Planck-Institut für Mikrostrukturphysik. »Dort drüben habe ich 1991 meine Diplomarbeit geschrieben«, erzählt er. Damals war dort das Institut für Festkörperphysik und Elektronenmikroskopie der Akademie der Wissenschaften der DDR untergebracht.

Nach der Wende wurde ein Großteil des ehemaligen Akademieinstituts in ein Max-Planck-Institut überführt, zwei Arbeitsgruppen wurden dem Fraunhofer IWM in Freiburg angegliedert. Als Höche nach Stationen in Stuttgart, Jena, Berlin, Leipzig und Chemnitz wieder nach Halle zurückkehrte, hatte sich aus den beiden ehemaligen Arbeitsgruppen des Akademieinstituts eine florierende Forschungseinrichtung entwickelt, die zunächst zum Fraunhofer IWM Freiburg gehörte und seit 2016 als eigenständiges Institut – IMWS – agiert.

Wie wichtig gute Präparationsmethoden in der Mikrostrukturanalyse sind, erlebt Höche täglich. Denn eines der Standbeine des IMWS ist die elektronenmikroskopische Untersuchung verschiedenster Materialien – von Halbleiterelementen aus den Branchen Automobil und Unterhaltungselektronik bis hin zu oxidischen Funktionsmaterialien. Dazu verfügt das IMWS über mehrere Transmissionselektronenmikroskope (TEM), darunter TITAN, das einzige aberrationskorrigierte TEM bei Fraunhofer. Mit TITAN lassen sich in Materialproben die Kristallstruktur, chemische Elementverteilung und einzelne Atome sichtbar machen. Es arbeitet im
Prinzip wie ein Lichtmikroskop, nur dass statt Licht Elektronen die Probe durchdringen und abbildbare Signale zur weiteren Analyse liefern.

Damit die Probe elektronentransparent ist, darf sie nicht dicker als einige zehn Nanometer sein – eine gigantische Herausforderung für die Probenbearbeitung. Mechanisches Schleifen beschädigt die Oberfläche durch Defektbildung. Eine Bearbeitung mit fokussierten Ionenstrahlen ist zwar schonender, wegen der geringen Abtragsrate aber äußerst langwierig. Beim Einsatz von Lasern befürchtete man bislang, dass sich das Material erhitzt und seine Struktur verändert.

Die Idee, Ultrakurzpulslaser für die »athermische« Probenpräparation nutzbar zu machen, hatte Höche bereits 2010. Am IMWS führte er sie mit Dr. Michael Krause weiter. »Wir benutzen einen Pikosekundenlaser mit Pulslängen von einer Billionstel Sekunde, um die Erhitzung des Probenmaterials zu vermeiden«, erläutert Krause. Die Anlage microPREP™ entwickelten Krause und Höche zusammen mit der 3D-Micromac AG in Chemnitz – Höches ehemaligem Arbeitgeber. Im Prototyp erfolgt die Probenpräparation in zwei Schritten: Ein mechanisch zugeschnittenes Stück des Probenmaterials erhält mit dem Ultrakurzpulslaser eine definierte Form und kann gleichzeitig beschriftet werden – was Verwechslungen ausschließt und bei Kunden großen Anklang findet. Im zweiten Schritt wird an einer bestimmten Stelle der Probe eine Fläche auf unter 15 Mikrometer »abgedünnt«, dabei arbeitet der Laser parallel zur Oberfläche. Nach der Laserpräparierung mit microPREP™ wird die Probe nur noch kurz in einer Ionenbreitstrahlanlage oder einer fokussierten Ionenstrahlanlage poliert, bevor sie im TEM untersucht werden kann. Stolz sind die microPREP™-Entwickler darauf, die Probenpräparation nicht nur schneller, sondern auch preiswerter anbieten zu können.

Zurzeit erstellt Michael Krause »Rezepte« für die Präparation verschiedenster Materialien. Er arbeitet dabei mit Georg Schusser zusammen. Der Laseringenieur kam vor einem halben Jahr von 3D-Micromac ans IMWS Halle. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Bedienung von microPREP™ so einfach wie möglich zu gestalten. Dazu dient vor allem der Touchscreen, auf dem man wie auf einem Smartphone zoomen und navigieren kann. Mithilfe der eingebauten Kamera ist es sogar möglich, auf dem Display genau den Teil der Probe zu markieren, der abgetragen werden soll.

Nach der erfolgreichen Präsentation des Systems auf der Microscopy Conference in Göttingen wurde das erste Gerät mittlerweile an einen Kunden in Asien geliefert.

Projektleiter Höche möchte microPREP™ zu einer Plattformtechnologie für die Präparation unterschiedlichster Proben für verschiedene Analysemethoden entwickeln. Besonders im Blick hat er die Röntgenmikroskopie. »Für dieses Verfahren werden zylindrische Proben mit rund 50 Mikrometer Durchmesser benötigt«, erklärt der Physiker. »Wir brauchen in unserem Gerät nur die Probenhalterung zu ändern, um diese Zylinder präparieren zu können.« Die Aufmerksamkeit der Experten auf der nächsten Fachmesse ist ihm jetzt schon sicher. Denn die Röntgenmikroskopie gewinnt in der Mikrostrukturanalytik zunehmend an Bedeutung.

Text: Christine Broll

So funktioniert microPREP